Docs

Life of a Workspace

Gitpod makes creating fresh workspaces as easy as clicking a button on a GitHub page. Gitpod’s continuous dev environments encourages you to create fresh workspaces rather than restarting older ones. This ensures that you are starting from a clean slate with proper configuration.

Timeouts

Any running workspace will automatically stop after some time of inactivity. Normally, this timeout is 30 minutes but is extended to 60 minutes if you have the _Unlimited plan. Furthermore, Unlimited users can manually boost the timeout of a workspace to 180 minutes. This comes in handy, e.g. in case you want to go out for a longer lunch or meeting and don’t like restarting your workspace when coming back.

The timeout will always be reset to the full 30 mins (or whatever is enabled) by any action - mouse move or keystroke - in the IDE. If the IDE is still open but the corresponding workspace has stopped, a dialog will pop up that lets you start the workspace again. Alternatively, you can just reload the browser or go to your workspaces and restart the workspace.

For convenience, closing the browser window/tab containing the IDE reduces the timeout to 3 minutes.

Garbage Collection

Old unused workspaces are automatically deleted after 30 days of inactivity. To prevent a workspace from being deleted you can pin it on your list of workspaces. Restarting a workspace resets the 30 day timeout.

Changes are Saved

Gitpod backs up the state of the /workspace/ folder between workspace starts, so that you can revisit them later. Files in other locations will not be saved!